Musical Director
Layton Hodgetts

Layton Hodgetts

Layton Hodgetts, OAM. – BA (Mus) Monash University; Dip. Ed (Tas Uni); TTC, MACE

Layton Hodgetts is a Graduate of the School of Music, Monash University, Melbourne – Victoria and the University of Tasmania, Hobart – Tasmania. He has had a distinguished career in music education for over the past thirty five years.

Apart from leading rigorous and fundamental educational programs in all aspects of music performance, he has also been responsible for the establishment and development of numerous community and school/college based wind band programs. He is the founding Music Director of the Derwent Valley Concert Band Inc, which since its formation in 1993, has become nationally and internationally acclaimed. He has been an active member of a number of professional music organisations including the Tasmanian Bands League – an affiliate of the National Band Council of Australia Inc and has served as a member of the State Music Advisory Board. Mr Hodgetts was the Chairman and Convenor of the Australian National Band Championships, hosted in Hobart, Tasmania in April 2010.

The Derwent Valley Concert Band has competed with great success – under Mr Hodgetts’ direction – at state and national levels in on-stage contests. Mr Hodgetts has led and directed the band by invitation at the following overseas events since 1993: Mie Expo in Japan 1994; The Calgary Exhibition and Stampede, Canada in 1997; China International Band and Fashion Festival in 1999; The World Championships for Marching Showbands, Potsdam, Germany in 2001; Mid-Europe International Music Conference, Schladming, Austria 2001; Eksjo Tattoo in central Sweden in 2001; celebrations surrounding the Royal Wedding of Crown Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary in Copenhagen, Denmark 2004.

In 2006, the Band performed at the Beijing International Band Festival. In 2007, Mr Hodgetts was elected as a Regional Representative for Australia and the Pacific Region on the Board for the International Youth Band being established under the auspices of the United Nations. In 2008, Mr Hodgetts led the DVCB on an extensive European tour where they participated and gained awards in marching and concert events in France, Belgium, Germany and Italy. In 2012, Mr Hodgetts coordinated another extensive Band tour to Austria and Poland and he maintains enduring links with the band networks in all countries who have hosted the DVCB. Mr Hodgetts has also been responsible for reciprocal visits to Tasmania by Bands from Austria, Poland and Japan.

Since retiring from full time teaching in 2006, he has been engaged as Guest Conductor, Clinician and Adjudicator in Australia, Malaysia, China and Europe. Mr Hodgetts was appointed in 2009 as Artistic Director of the Australian Concert Series, held in September 2010 in the Australian Pavilion at the World Expo in Shanghai. In 2009 Mr Hodgetts stepped aside, relinquishing the Conductor’s role in the DVCB in order to accommodate his increasing involvement in banding matters globally. Mr Hodgetts remains closely linked to the Band’s Artistic Leadership Team and currently occupies the position of Music Director and is the President of the Band’s Management Committee.

Mr Hodgetts is at present coordinating the Band’s ninth overseas concert tour which departs on 14th June 2015 for three weeks and will include Spain, Italy, Germany and Denmark. Mr Hodgetts’ initiatives and contribution to Community Music and Educational Programs have been recognised with several achievement awards by all levels of Government in Australia.

  • 1994 Tasmania Day Citizen Award
  • 1997 Australia Day Citizen Award
  • 2001 Regional Arts Tasmania – Volunteer Award
  • 2003 Tasmanian Quality Teaching Award (Australian College of Educators)
  • 2005 Medal of the order Of Australia (OAM)
  • 2006 Teacher Emeritus Award on Retirement from New Norfolk High School.
  • 2008 Conductor’s Gold Medal – (European Band Championships
  • 2008 Outstanding Achiever Award -Tasmanian Achievement Awards)
  • 2008 Tasmania’s Local Hero (for 2009) – Australian of the Year Awards